Healing.

I haven’t written a single blog post in almost a year. I went through and deleted most of them because they annoyed me- I see how my vision has evolved. It’s clearer now; I know what I need to say.

There’s very little peace in the middle of a search and any extra energy goes toward keeping a balance in everyday life. It consumes. Through DNA testing and Ancestry.com I was able to locate my biological family. Both mother and father. Both still living. I’ve received a warm welcome from my mother, the opposite from my father, which is fine. She was the one.

I found my mother on Easter Sunday. I woke feeling weary from the toll this search had taken on me and my family. I had a new match (still quite distant at a 3.9) on GEDmatch and I wanted to take a closer look at her extensive tree. I said to the kids, “I’m going to find my mother today. Just give me a little time.” Four hours later, after combing through every descendant of my great, great, great grandfather and using adoption agency clues, I found her. This I knew: there was a conception in Syracuse in 1969. I knew she was English. I knew she was the middle of three daughters. I knew she had been a secretary. When I came to her mothers (my grandmothers) obituary and saw the three daughters listed, with their names, I knew I had found her… I stopped breathing. Of course, I turned to Facebook to search her name. When I found her, the school she had listed was a secretarial school in Syracuse. Bam. I immediately called my searchers and asked them to run a background on her age and to get me her cell phone number. They did both in less than a minute. I made the call. She told me later that she knew it was me as soon as she heard my voice. She said she had been waiting for my call. She said she never forgot about me. She said she loved me.

10 days later I flew out to meet my mother and the rest of my family. It was hard; draining and painful, and beautiful, and healing, and overwhelming and wonderful all at the same time. No words -when people ask, I have none. I can only imagine how she must feel, because, quite the opposite of me, I only get tiny glimpses into those deeply hidden memories. She hid me and our story for 46 years. After my birth it was never spoken of again.
This process will heal us both.

Reunion doesn’t happen overnight. Never again will you ever hear me say I’m thankful I’m also a mother of loss, but the fact that I am has helped me understand her better. If I had walked into her life as only an adoptee there would’ve been much more confusion. It has given us a common ground and many conversations of shared loss.
Something I notice with friends and family that have been on this journey with me is that they love the reunion story, the joyful, happy and romanticized version. But the suffering by mother and child is ugly and wretched. No one wants to hear that part; the broken hearts you can’t see in the photos. I don’t expect them to get it, only those that live it do.

10 thoughts on “Healing.

  1. Reunion is the beginning of a long, difficult process and nothing ever goes back to anything other than what has happened. I am so sorry that you also are a mother of loss–but then adoptees are seven times more likely to give up a child than other women. Your post was beautiful. I am so happy that your next chapter is about to begin. Much love and many hugs–lorraine ♥

    Liked by 2 people

  2. You are a great writer, thanks for sharing your reunion with us, the good, bad and the ugly. Your right only another mother of loss understands the pain, even in a good reunion, there is so much pain and loss. Enjoy your journey and I am glad your mother is so cool. Hugs to you and her.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Not sure how far along you are in the process- but it sounds like you’ve taken DNA tests which is half the battle! Are you building trees? Upload your info to GEDmatch. Do you have close matches? There are so many search groups that can walk you through it. Let me know if I can help. Peace and love❤️ -Steph

      Like

  3. I am so happy for you and your family! And I also know the heart wrenching pain as a mother of loss myself. I’m so glad your writing again, and that your so open to my questions and curiousities, you have much to teach me, thank you for being you and for adding your voice to the cause.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am so happy you had a reunion. I think all the parts of the reunion, the good, the bad, the heart wrenching, are all the colors that make a beautiful picture. I look forward to reading more about your reunion.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

